请输入关键字
News
Calendar
May 2022
SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT
93,

01-January 1970,

99,
Online Seminar 13 - Disruption continued: Protracted supply chain issues in Vietnam
09/02/2022 Author:GIZ FABRIC

Online seminar 13 - Disruption continued: Protracted supply chain issues in Vietnam

Thursday, 10 February 2022 at 9 AM Berlin / 3 PM Bangkok / 4 PM Beijing (90 minutes)


Although textile and garment producing countries are restoring production to pre-pandemic levels, Vietnam finds itself facing survival challenges. Initially spared major Covid-19 outbreaks, the country faced an almost total lock down in the latter half of 2021. With many textile and garment factories shutting down completely, workers availed themselves of the opportunity to return home when allowed – with many failing to return as facilities reopened.

What does the future hold for one of the world’s largest producers? Will workers return eventually, or does the country face a systemic labour shortage requiring a new approach to recruitment? And what do good purchasing practices in Vietnam look like now factory owners are hesitant to take on too many orders for fear of being unable to meet deadlines due to a lack of qualified staff or facing resistance from buyers to pay for anti-epidemic costs?

Speakers at this online seminar will provide a snapshot of the main obstacles to restoring production and examine the consequences of this from the perspective of major stakeholders. They will also provide an overview of the current situation and what 2022 might bring for Vietnam.


For detailed information on Online Seminar Series, please go to Here

For more information on the thirteenth one, please check the Invitation in EN.

To register, please click Here